Day 2 – What Technology Are You Grateful For?

I’m grateful for the technology that allowed us to see early in the pregnancy that our little unborn baby was in trouble. Even as I questioned my maternal instinct that constantly chewed at me, insisting something wasn’t right, technology confirmed my fears and magnified my innermost worries into absolute reality.

I’m grateful for the technology that allowed doctors to carefully measure and monitor our baby’s growth over several weeks, and the technology that alerted doctors that our baby had stopped growing.

I’m grateful for the technology that allowed me to remain pregnant as long as possible while we watched carefully for the lines and beeps on the monitor to show us when our baby was no longer safe in the womb.

I’m grateful for the technology that allowed our baby to be surgically rescued from my defective body and whisked away to an artificial womb that provided the warm and safe environment for our baby’s third trimester that my body was unable to maintain.

I’m grateful for the technology that has kept our baby alive, technology that enables our baby to breathe, allows our baby to receive nourishment, gives our baby supplemental blood and fluids, and technology that allows us to confirm that our baby’s heart is strong, his brain is strong, his bones and muscles are strong, that not every part of his body is sick or fragile.

And I’m grateful for the technology that has allowed our family to continue to keep in touch despite the distance between us.

